top of page
crystalwong8291

Make the move: Exercise andhealth among Malaysians

BY WONG SIN WEI


KUALA LUMPUR: "Do you exercise?" "Not really", that's the answer you probably get

if you randomly ask a Malaysian.

According to sinchew's data, the 2017 report states that the Malaysian people are ranked in the bottom third globally in terms of the number of steps they take, and according to the NHMS report, Malaysia has the highest obesity rate among Southeast Asian countries at the moment, which is even predicting that obesity in Malaysia will reach a staggering 23 to 24 per cent in 2023, that is, one out of every four people will have an obesity sufferer. While in chinapress news report, it is pointed out that for every five teenagers in our country, four of them lack exercise.

We approached five respondents to inquire about their thoughts.

“I exercise for health and fitness!”, said Sharon.

“I exercise because my family wants me to exercise and there was a concert, so I bet my mum and I started exercising and it slowly became a habit,” Yang Na mentioned.

Hon Lam expressed that because his friends around him didn't exercise, he wouldn't want to run off and exercise by himself.

“I don't exercise because I'm lazy, I don't think about exercising just because I have free time, I prefer to be at home scrolling through my phone,” said Sher Lynn.

“The last time I exercised was around the middle of last year. The reason I don't exercise is because I'm chubby and I've been told to exercise, so I'm anti-psychological, but it's more of the laziness,” Yee Min indicated.

 

Exercise equal healthy?


Sharon, Insurance Agent








“Of course I do, because I think after exercising, I'll be a little bit more refreshed and won't be as tired.”


Sharon, Insurance Agent











“I think there's definitely a relationship between exercise and health, and a person who exercises is healthier than a person who doesn't!”, said Hon Lam.


Hon Lam, Worker













“Generally speaking, there is definitely a connection between health and exercise, but mostly it depends on the habits of the person, such as their personal lifestyle and so on,” Yee Min felt.


Yee Min, 21 years old, Student







Yang Na thinks there is a link between exercise and health, but not too much, she thinks it still depends on the individual's physical condition, some people are healthy even if they don't exercise naturally, and some people may have health problems due to exercise, for example, she used to have knee problems due to inappropriate exercise or incorrect posture, or back pain due to insufficient waist and abdominal strength, and other minor problems.


Yang Na, 22 years old, UTAR student


" I think there is no great connection between the two, because I do not exercise, but my body is still very healthy, in order to achieve good health also need to pay attention to more than just exercise, but also need to include a routine, dietary habits, and although I did not specifically go to exercise, but usually because of laziness and wait for the lift and choose to go up the stairs, or walk from the car park to the school distance, as well as doing housework, may also be considered my

Sher Lynn, 21 years old, UTAR student amount of physical activity, do not need to go to exercise, because the daily life of the consumption of energy and the energy consumed by the exercise may be the same," Sher Lynn thought.

 

Truth about Malaysian’s Exercise habit


“There are not many people around who have the habit of exercising, office workers are busy because of work, do the work to 8 or 9 o'clock in the evening, there is no time to exercise, I have friends around me to exercise together they are usually retired, or working hours are more free, do not have to work from 9 to 5, they can go to exercise first before going to work,” Sharon thought.


“I think the habit of exercise is quite small, maybe my friends secretly behind my back exercise I do not know, or did not find me exercise together, so I myself is not exercise, for office workers I think not exercise is the norm, because the time after work is their own, you will not use this time to do this body fatigue things, but to go to watch a drama to relax yourself,” Hon Lam said.


“I feel that my family and friends rarely get up early in the morning to go running for exercise, sometimes we would rather drive to a destination that can be reached by walking for a while. I feel that with the current pace of life, people seem to be less willing to spend time on exercise, such as office workers and students, who are busy with their work and classes in the morning and afternoon, and in the evening, everyone just wants to have a good rest, and will not want to take the initiative to go to exercise,” Sher Lynn mentioned that.


“As far as the people around me are concerned, there are friends who exercise and those who don't. Most of them don't exercise because they have to attend classes, and the most activities they can do is to go back to school and go home for dinner, and they rarely exercise because most of them have to catch up with their homework or are occupied by other projects, so most of them don't add exercise to their lives,” Yang Na expressed.


Another aspect, Yee Min stated, “In my circle of friends, they all like to exercise every day, like my younger brother, he goes out to play badminton or basketball every day, I don't think that not exercising is the norm for office workers and students, most people still exercise, just a few people are lazy, like my parents, they go out to exercise every day too!”

9 views0 comments

Komentarze


bottom of page